EU Awarded 2012 Nobel Peace Prize

2012 Nobel Peace Prize, European Union12 October 2012 – The UN in Brussels would like to congratulate the European Union (EU) for winning the 2012 Nobel Peace Prize for six decades of work in advancing peace, democracy and human rights in Europe.

In its press release, the Norwegian Nobel Committee explains its decision by saying: “The stabilizing part played by the EU has helped to transform most of Europe from a continent of war to a continent of peace. The work of the EU represents ‘fraternity between nations’, and amounts to a form of the ‘peace congresses’ to which Alfred Nobel refers as criteria for the Peace Prize in his 1895 will.”

In their joint statement today, José Manuel Barroso, President of the European Commission, and Herman Van Rompuy, President of the European Council, say that it is “a tremendous honour for the European Union to be awarded the 2012 Nobel Peace Prize” which shows that “in these difficult times the European Union remains an inspiration for leaders and citizens all over the world”.

They refer to the prize as the strongest possible recognition of the unique effort by European states to overcome war and divisions and to jointly shape a continent of peace and prosperity. “It is a Prize not just for the project and the institutions embodying a common interest, but for the 500 million citizens living in our Union”, they add.

Barroso and Van Rompuy further ensure that the EU will continue to promote peace and security in the world. “We are proud that the European Union is the world’s largest provider of development assistance and humanitarian aid and is at the forefront of global efforts to fight climate change and promote global public goods”, they say.

cinema32x32 Dblue

The European Union, at Peace for over 60 Years (source: EU Tube)

EU and UN statements following the award of the 2012 Nobel Peace Prize to the European Union:

* Statement by the UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon
* Statement by the European Commission President José Manuel Barroso
* Comments by the European Council President Herman Van Rompuy
* Video statement by the European Council President Herman Van Rompuy
* Statement by the EU High Representative Catherine Ashton
* Statement by the European Parliament President Martin Schulz

Tagged under